these art forms must be developed…

eggle
“los alamos” william eggleston (he comes into play later)

……………………………..

so! i took a plane ride to nashville for halloween! i got to see so many old friends and we all had so much fun.
i was really in love, i gotta say.
i stayed with elle and ben and we went ALL OUT for costumes. i think collectively we used at least 50 hot glue sticks.
ben is noah’s ark, elle is simon AND garfunkle, and i am a mummy, keepin it classic…
costs
obviously, elle won halloween…
ben bought thrift store grab bags of random happy meal type animals to use for his costume and ended up with about thirty different kinds of bears. so, since we needed another costume for halloween eve, i cut all their heads off and made necklaces for me and elle…we thought maybe we were bear maulers…rather than being mauled BY bears….get it!?!?
also, i cant make a scary face to save my life…
bears

………………………………….
so after all the costume days, we were treated to a lovely dinner party and a viewing of william eggleston’s Stranded in Canton. in 1973, the photographer eggleston used a Sony portapak to film his friends, drunk, on quaaludes, geeking (thats biting heads of live chickens folks) and just partying beyond all compare. eggleston says the film “isnt about anything but itself.”

the portapak was the first portable video system, eggleston put an infared pick up tube in his in order to pick up light in dark clubs. it created a really haunting effect, makes skin look “translucent“. anyway, the whole thing is on youtube, definitely watch it!
…………………………………
other stuff happened, its all on my flikr.
and then! i went back on the plane home to richmond…i had a three hour lay over during which i listened to the interview collages of gregory whitehead.
my favorite so far is Dead Letters, and includes excerpts from a broad range of discussions, about phantom limbs, the handwriting of hitler, napoleon’s penis, the actual color of dinosaurs, and memorizing the illiad in its entirety…
you can find all of them for free online here….
……………………………….
bonus, my hand at eggleston
load

One response to “these art forms must be developed…

  1. Jackie Picariello

    I saw the Eggleston exhibit in D.C. I really enjoyed the Graceland pictures and I loved”Memphis, Tennessee c. 1974-75″ (two ladies laying on a couch together)…I loved it so much I bought it in postcard size!

    The guards also laughed at me because I turned my head when the man was biting off the chicken’s head. Too much for me, but I kind of wish I could have partied with them.

    &
    The Simon AND Garfunkel costume was amazing.

Leave a Reply

